DC up to 500 kHz Variable Gain Fast Power Meter OE-200

Features

  • Adjustable conversion gain from 103 to 1011 V/W
  • Operating range from fW to mW
  • Spectral range from 190 to 1700 nm
  • NEP down to 6 fW/√Hz
  • Bandwidth up to 500 kHz
  • Rise time down to 700 ns
  • Fiber optic or free space input
  • Calibration for all fiber optic models
  • Manual and remote control
ModelOE-200-SI-FST
OE-200-SI-FC
OE-200-UV-FST
OE-200-UV-FC
OE-200-IN1-FST
OE-200-IN1-FC
OE-200-IN2-FST
OE-200-IN2-FC
Detector TypeSi-PINSi-PINInGaAs-PINInGaAs-PIN
Detector Size [mm] Ø 1.21.1 x 1.1Ø 0.3

(FC: Ø 0,08)

Ø 0.3

(FC: Ø 0,08)

Spectral Range [nm]320 – 1060190 – 1000900 – 1700900 – 1700
Calibration Wavelength [nm]85085013101550
NEP (Dependent on Gain Setting) [/√Hz]8 fW – 33 pW17 fW – 60 pW7 fW – 22 pW6 fW – 22 pW
Useful Operating Range typ. 100 fW – 2 mWtyp. 200 fW – 2 mWtyp. 100 fW – 2 mWtyp. 100 fW – 2 mW
DatasheetDownloadDownloadDownloadDownload

The Following Characteristics Are Valid For All Models:

Performance RangeLow NoiseHigh Speed
Conversion Gain [V/W]10310410510610710810910510610710810910101011
Bandwidth
(-3 dB) [kHz]
5005004002005071.15005004002005071.1
Rise Time
(10 % – 90 %)
700 ns700 ns900 ns1.8 µs7 µs50 µs300 µs700 ns700 ns900 ns1.8 µs7 µs50 µs300 µs
Accuracy Performance±1 % electrical, ±5 % electro-optical for fiber optic models, ±15 % electro optical for free space models,
calibration for all fiber optic models
Low Pass FilterSwitchable to 10 Hz
Output Performance±10 V (@ ≥100 kΩ load)
Power Requirements±15 V, +110 mA/−80 mA typ., ±200 mA recommended
Control Interface5 opto-isolated digital inputs, TTL/CMOS compatible, analog offset control voltage input
Case170 x 60 x 45 mm (L x W x H), Weight 320 g (0.74 lb.)

Offset adjustable by trimpot or external control voltage. LED overload indication. Output short-circuit protected. Power supply via 3-pin Lemo® socket. A mating connector is provided with the device. Optional power supply PS-15 available. For further information please view the datasheet or contact FEMTO.

Sensitivity meets versatility

The OE-200 series of variable gain photoreceivers is designed for a great variety of applications requiring the fast and precise measurement of small optical signals. By combining a low noise transimpedance amplifier with a silicon or InGaAs photodiode a broad wavelength range from 190 nm up to 1700 nm is covered. The integrated amplifier offers adjustable gain from 103 to 1011 V/W and thus allows the measurement over a wide dynamic range from ca. 100 fW up to 2 mW optical input power. Its high sensitivity is achieved by a low noise design resulting in a noise equivalent power (NEP) of minimum 6 fW/√Hz. Many additional features like switchable signal filters, an offset adjustment and the capability of manual and opto-isolated remote control by a PC make the OE-200 the most versatile photoreceiver in its class.

Wide bandwidth for fast measurement speed

In addition to its high sensitivity the OE-200 also offers a fast signal response. With its maximum bandwidth of 500 kHz it is ideally suited for time resolved measurements with a signal rise time down to 700 ns. Industrial process control, automated measurement systems and fast opto electronic control loops are just a few of the many applications that can profit from a fast optical front-end realized by the OE-200.

Fast optical power meter with calibration

The high precision and low drift of the OE-200 ensure repeatable and consistent measurements also in the highest gain setting. All models with fiber optic input come with an optical calibration for reliable and accurate results. Thus the OE-200 can be also used as precise and fast power meter with a high bandwidth of up to 500 kHz and a wide dynamic range of up to 100 dB.

Compatible with optical bench (free space) and fiber optics

The free space input (FST) is designed as a 1.035″-40 threaded flange with a screw-on coupler ring. It opens up a broad compatibility with optical accessories from various manufacturers, such as lenses, tubes, cage systems, optical adapters etc.

The free-space input can be converted into fiber connections (FC, FSMA) easily by simply screwing on the fiber adapter of the PRA series.

The relatively large-area detector facilitates optical focusing in free-space applications and ensures a high and stable degree of coupling when using the optionally available fiber optic adapter. For models with detector areas smaller than Ø 0.4 mm, the use of fiber adapters is only recommended to a limited extent, since coupling losses and instabilities can occur. If the focus is on high-precision fiber optic measurements, using FC-models with fixed optical fiber input will usually give the best results.

All OE-200 photo receivers are equipped with UNC 8-32 and M4 threaded holes and can therefore be conveniently and stably integrated into optical systems on standard rod holders. The optionally available adapter plate PRA-PAP opens up further mounting options.

Applications

  • All purpose lab photoreceiver
  • Fiber alignment systems
  • Fast power monitoring
  • Test of laser diode to fiber coupling
  • Linearity measurements over 10 decades
  • Calibration of optical communication systems
  • Time-resolved pulse and power measurements
  • Industrial control and alignment systems

Related products / accessories

Power Supply

USB Control Interface LUCI-10

Fiber-Adapter

Post Adapter Plate

DC bis 500 kHz Variable Verstärkung OE-200

Features

  • Einstellbare Verstärkung von 103 bis 1011 V/W
  • fW bis mW Empfindlichkeit
  • Spektralbereich von 190 – 1700 nm
  • Eingangsrauschen (NEP) bis min. 6 fW/√Hz
  • Bandbreite bis zu 500 kHz
  • Min. Anstiegszeit 700 ns
  • Faseroptischer oder Freistrahleingang
  • Kalibrierung für alle faseroptischen Modelle
  • Einstellungen manuell oder per Digital-Interface möglich
ModellOE-200-SI-FST
OE-200-SI-FC
OE-200-UV-FST
OE-200-UV-FC
OE-200-IN1-FST
OE-200-IN1-FC
OE-200-IN2-FST
OE-200-IN2-FC
DetektortypSi-PINSi-PINInGaAs-PINInGaAs-PIN
Detektorgröße [mm] Ø 1,21,1 x 1,1Ø 0,3 (FC: Ø 0,08)Ø 0,3 (FC: Ø 0,08)
Spektralbereich [nm]320 – 1060190 – 1000900 – 1700900 – 1700
Kalibrier-Wellenlänge [nm]85085013101550
NEP (Abhängig von Verstärkung) [/√Hz]8 fW – 33 pW17 fW – 60 pW7 fW – 22 pW6 fW – 22 pW
Empfohlener Betriebsbereich typ. 100 fW – 2 mWtyp. 200 fW – 2 mWtyp. 100 fW – 2 mWtyp. 100 fW – 2 mW
DatenblattDownloadDownloadDownloadDownload

Die folgenden Spezifikationen gelten für alle Modelle:

ArbeitsbereichLow NoiseHigh Speed
Konversionsverstärkung [V/W]10310410510610710810910510610710810910101011
Bandbreite (-3 dB) [kHz]5005004002005071,15005004002005071,1
Anstiegszeit (10 % – 90 %)700 ns700 ns900 ns1,8 µs7 µs50 µs300 µs700 ns700 ns900 ns1,8 µs7 µs50 µs300 µs
Genauigkeit±1 % elektrisch, ±5 % elektro-optisch für faseroptische Modelle, ±15 % elektro-optisch für Freistrahl-Modelle, Kalibrierung für alle faseroptischen Modelle
Tiefpassfilterschaltbar auf 10 Hz
Ausgang±10 V (@ ≥100 kΩ Last)
Versorgungsspannung±15 V, +110 mA / -80 mA typ., ±200 mA empfohlen
Steuer-Interface5 opto-isolierte Digitaleingänge, TTL/CMOS kompatibel, sowie ein analoger Eingang zur Steuerung der Offset-Spannung
Gehäuse170 x 60 x 45 mm (L x B x H), Gewicht 320 g

Offset über Trimmer und externe Steuerspannung einstellbar. LED Overload Anzeige. Ausgang kurzschlussfest. Versorgungsspannung ±15 V über 3-polige Lemo®-Buchse. Ein passender Stecker wird mitgeliefert. Passendes Netzteil der Serie PS-15 optional erhältlich. Weitere Einzelheiten siehe Datenblatt.

Hohe Empfindlichkeit und flexibler Einsatz

Die Fotoempfänger der Serie OE-200 sind für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen entwickelt, bei denen kleine optische Signale schnell und präzise gemessen werden müssen. Durch die Kombination eines rauscharmen Transimpedanzverstärkers mit einer Silizium-PIN- oder InGaAs-PIN-Fotodiode wird ein weiter Spektralbereich von 190 nm bis 1700 nm abgedeckt. Der integrierte Verstärker besitzt eine einstellbare Verstärkung von 103 bis 1011 V/W und erlaubt somit einen weiten Messbereich von ca. 100 fW bis 2 mW optischer Eingangsleistung. Diese hohe Empfindlichkeit wird durch ein rauscharmes Design erreicht, das eine rauschäquivalente Eingangsleistung (NEP) von minimal nur 6 fW/√Hz besitzt. Weitere Ausstattungsmerkmale wie schaltbare Signalfilter, eine einstellbare Offsetkorrektur, sowie die Möglichkeit das Gerät nicht nur manuell sondern auch über ein opto-isoliertes Interface mit einem PC zu steuern, machen den OE-200 zum vielseitigsten Fotoempfänger in seiner Klasse.

Große Bandbreite für hohe Messgeschwindigkeit

Zusätzlich zu seiner hohen Empfindlichkeit besitzt der OE-200 eine schnelle Signal-Anstiegszeit. Mit seiner maximalen Bandbreite von 500 kHz ist der Fotoempfänger hervorragend für zeitaufgelöste Messungen im Bereich bis 700 ns geeignet. Viele Anwendungen wie industrielle Prozesskontrolle, automatisierte Messsysteme und schnelle opto-elektronische Regelschleifen können von dieser hohen Messgeschwindigkeit profitieren.

Schneller optischer Leistungsmesser mit Kalibrierung

Die hohe Genauigkeit und geringe Drift des OE-200 gewährleisten konsistente Messergebnisse mit hoher Reproduzierbarkeit. Alle Modelle mit faseroptischem Eingang werden mit einer optischen Kalibrierung ausgeliefert. Somit ist der OE-200 auch als genauer und schneller optischer Leistungsmesser mit einer Bandbreite von bis zu 500 kHz und einem weiten Dynamikbereich von bis zu 100 dB einsetzbar.

Kompatibel mit optischer Bank (Freistrahl) und Faseroptik

Der Freistrahleingang (FST) ist als 1.035″-40 Gewindeflansch mit anschraubbarem Kopplerring ausgeführt und bietet eine breite Kompatibilität mit optischem Zubehör diverser Hersteller, wie zum Beispiel Linsen, Tubusse, Käfigsysteme, optische Adapter etc.

Der Freistrahleingang kann durch einfaches Anschrauben der Faseradapter der Serie PRA problemlos zu Faseranschlüssen (FC, FSMA) umgebaut werden.

Der relativ großflächige Detektor erleichtert das optische Fokussieren in Freistrahlanwendungen und sichert einen hohen und stabilen Kopplungsgrad bei Verwendung eines optional erhältlichen Faseroptikadapters. Für Modelle mit Detektorflächen kleiner als Ø 0,4 mm wird die Verwendung von Faseradaptern nur bedingt empfohlen, da Kopplungsverluste und Instabilitäten auftreten können. Liegt der Schwerpunkt auf hochpräzisen faseroptischen Messungen, liefert die Verwendung von FC-Modellen mit festem optischen FC-Fasereingang in der Regel die besten Ergebnisse.

Alle OE-200-Fotoempfänger sind mit UNC 8-32- und M4-Gewindebohrungen ausgerüstet und können damit komfortabel und stabil auf marktüblichen Stangenhaltern in optische Systeme integriert werden. Die optional erhältliche Adapterplatte PRA-PAP eröffnet weitere Montagemöglichkeiten.

Anwendungen

  • Universal Labor Fotoempfänger
  • Systeme zur automatisierten Faserkopplung an aktive Komponenten
  • Schneller Leistungsmesser für optische Signale
  • Linearitätsmessungen über 10 Dekaden
  • Kalibrierung optischer Kommunikationssysteme
  • Zeitaufgelöste Puls- und Leistungsmessungen
  • Industrielle Kontroll- und Regelschleifen

Verwandte Artikel / Zubehör

Netzteil

USB Schnittstelle LUCI-10

Faser-Adapter

Post-Adapterplatte